It’s Got Me in an Alca-trance ;)

Hey all!  Trying to get back on schedule with the Art of the Trailer and my roommate and good friend Andrew turned me onto this teaser for a new JJ Abrams show coming to Fox. Now I know that this trailer debuted in May and I know that IMDB doesn’t list it coming out until 2013, but I wanted to take a look at this because a friend recommended it, and because I think that this could be the new Lost. That statement may come back to bite me hard so I will get to that shortly.  First things first though, please check out the trailer below and then keep on scrollin’ for my commentary and notes on Alcatraz:

Here is the gist of it:   Prison Break meets Lost.  This the MOST JJ ABRAMS you can get for your money’s worth!!!  It involves mystery, cover ups and conspiracy, time travel, Hurley!  What more can you ask for?!?!

Now, this trailer creates a challenge for me because it is a bit too long for me, but my friend Andrew thought it was perfect.  So then which opinion is correct?  Well I poured over the trailer again and again and this is what I came too:

  • < 0:53 = A really good teaser for the show (which is all I wanted).
  • 0:53 – 1:09 = When we start to get too much. It is still alright but it shows a bit too much.
  • 1:09 – 2:13 = When we see almost all of the pilot, which is far too much.

They do a great job of selling it as the filler for our Lost-shaped hole which is what they needed to do.  I like the simplicity of the premise (that the mass prisoner move from Alcatraz was a coverup) in that it plays perfectly off the “Hidden Knowledge” formula that we all know and love so much.  Honestly it doesn’t matter how or why they disappeared; just how we find out that information, and that is what makes this new genre appealing particularly to Hollywood Executives.

HOWEVER, and this is the BIG however, we all remember what happened with The Event. Most of us got very excited about it’s potential, but were sorely disappointed when the “Event” wasn’t explained in the first episode….or the second…..or at all.  There exists a razor thin line that must be walked between keeping the audience in suspense, releasing just enough, and losing us – either by giving up the mystery too early or by NEVER getting to it. Lost worked because most of us weren’t used to the genre and were willing to tag along for Six miserable seasons to finally start getting some answers.  Not so anymore.  We know what we want and we will kill shows that go too slow.

Very quickly here are two lists of what I think worked and what didn’t.
What they should have held back:

  • Jorge Garcia being in it
  • Set up for the “little black bag” line
  • Graveyard scene

What was good:

  • “Waiting for this for a very long time”
  • “Greatest criminals coming back…don’t exist”
  • Basically anything Sam Neill didd
  • Intro to the mystery
Ultimately I think they did a decent job, particularly as I am now intrigued and want to see the show (whenever it comes out).  My biggest fear though is that it will fall into the JJ Pattern: 1) Start well with interesting characters and good plot, 2) then JJ leaves for the “new toy” and this one slowly drowns itself (see The Event, V, etc).  I am afraid for Fringe right now because we arriving at the departure phase very soon, particularly with the super-shiny toys of Cloverfield 2, Star Trek 2, and MI3: Ghost Protocol looming soon.  Guess we will just have to wait and see…

Overall Rating:  3.5//5

Thanks again to Andrew Pelt for suggesting this one!  Good stuff. Below are some clickouts for other articles on this upcoming show, so check those out!

Next week I am thinking might get a little sad…like really…..MELANCHOLY…….you know………just sayin’…….
So check back next Friday and please check out my review of Assassin’s Creed II on the Soontobeangel blog — Coming next week.  K Bye!

Please Comment Below and Subscribe!

About Tyler D. Welch

Filmmaker, Storyteller, Scholar View all posts by Tyler D. Welch

Leave a Reply

